New Band Pages: “Prevention”



Photo by Carol Weems, Activator Magazine

It’s a brand new week, so we are keeping things rolling with a brand new band page on our site. This time it’s for the new Springfield straight-edge hardcore band called “Prevention“. Prevention has played only one show at this point, and last week we featured their debut demo Your Bad Habits streaming on our site. Check out their band page on our site right here for a long list of related projects that we sure isn’t complete. Prevention will be playing their next show as their tape release show at Bread Slammers on Thursday, July 18th in about one month.

Our list of current bands on our site still has a lot of work needing to be done, but we are proud of it. There are a total of 41 on there right now, but a lot of them are out of date. Whoops! If you play in a local Springfield original music band or are a solo musician that has not gotten a page with us – email us at and we will set something up!

Cody Jones: “Secret Bosses” Music Video

Screen Shot 2019-06-16 at 12.40.01 PM.png

This afternoon we are bringing you a new hit music video put together by artist Cody Jones. The video is for the song “Secret Boss” which came from Cody’s recent album All Our Friends Are Algorithms released earlier this year. You can find that full album streaming right here. You can find that video below. We have had trouble embedding facebook videos to website posts in the past, so really hoping this one works!!

Cody performed at the most recent first ever “Creative Earth Art Show” inside of our new space about a week ago. We have also added this one to our vids/shows page which looks like has very much overgrown over the years, we’ve got a long list of local music videos on that.


July 12th at Bread Sheep: Kate The Band, Best Sleep, Sadface Killer, Flunkie


Good morning! We have another July show to announce over here for The Bread Sheep Café (no sandwiches, just coffee). Last night was a pretty good show, wasn’t it? This one we have to tell you about is on Friday, July 12th. It’s a nice show. This show features full band “Kate The Band” – you know it’s good based on these two songs we streamed on our site this past week. The touring act on this bill is “Best Sleep” from Fort Wayne, Indiana. You can stream their music on the player embedded below. Then we have the first “Bread Sheep” performance of Peoria and Springfield based emo band Sadface Killer. They are a good band and released their debut full length album Domino Line earlier this year. Opening things up is the local solo project – Flunkie.

This show will start at 7:00 pm regular showtime and admission is $5. Check out a facebook event for this one right here. Also be sure to check out our shows page for a good look at what else is coming up at Bread Sheep in the near future.

July 3rd at CFP: Kate The Band, Dead Selves, Dana Skully And The Tiger Sharks, Marble Teeth


If you haven’t noticed, the “CFP” house venue has been pretty quiet these past few months as things have been more up and rolling on the “Bread Stretchers” end of things. But it looks like The CFP is coming back this summer for one special show to show Bread Stretchers that they mean business. They are holding a “Vegan Bake Sale” to compete with all of the bread coming out of Bread Stretchers on Wednesday, July 3rd. This makes for four shows in a row since we have nows now lined up at our space on July 4th, July 5th, and July 6th. Yes, this is a terrible idea. This show at the CFP features the full band lineup of Kate The Band, who just released two hot new tracks on our site this past week. There are two touring bands on this show. The first is “Dead Selves” from Atlanta, Georgia. You can stream their music on the player below. The other band is “Dana Skully & The Tiger Sharks”. Wait, that band played at Black Sheep before, didn’t they? Opening things up is an act we haven’t seen in a minute – Marble Teeth from Decatur, Illinois.

All of this starts at the CFP house at 7:00 on July 3rd – yes, they will be serving Crusty Fish Pies as part of their vegan bake sale. It’s $5. Check out a facebook event for the show right here. Also check out our Springfield shows page where we try to keep a list of shows going on outside of our space in town.

Tonight at Bread Slammers: Final Order, While God Sleeps, Hushed, Time & Pressure, Foam Fangers


Happy rainy day weekend everyone! Tonight we have a whopper of a show going on at “Bread Slammers.” It is a heavy one! You’ve been warned! Tonight is going to be the tape release show for Springfield hardcore group Final Order, who we had featured on our site yesterday with their new 9-track release, Tainted Tradition. There are two touring acts tonight. One is “While God Sleeps” playing some metalcore from the heart of Minnesota. You can stream their music on the player below. Also on this show from the other end of up north is Hushed from Detroit, Michigan. Then we have familiar group to Springfield “Time & Pressure” from St. Louis – playing at Bread Stretchers for the first time. Opening things up is… Foam Fangers! Also playing for the first time at the new spot. Nice.

This show will start at 7:00 pm and admission is $7. Check out a facebook event for this one right here. Also be sure to check out our shows page for a good look at what else is going on coming up at Breads R Us in the near future.

Final Order: “Tainted Tradition”


We hope you all area ready for some heavy music because today that is what you are getting! A couple of days ago this whopper of a nine-track album dropped by Springfield hardcore band “Final Order“. They’ve been around for just about one year playing shows now, so it’s about time that we get this hot batch of recorded music from them. You can check out their release Tainted Tradition on the player streaming below. Also head over to Final Order’s bandcamp page to download the album at your own price.

The tape release for Tained Tradition is actually happening tomorrow night at Bread Slammers!! Don’t miss it. Check out a facebook event and more info on that show right here. We are also adding this release to our Springfield Album Archive page of course.

July 4th at The Bread Pit: Skeleton, Snuff Rider, Uncle Sam’s Mutagenic Children copy.gif

Does this thing work? Does it hurt your eyes or is it cool? Good. Whoops, we are way late in the game of letting you know that we are planning a show in the space next to us for the Fourth of July this year. (We are downtown right where the fireworks are happening, why not)! For this show we have the band Skeleton from somewhere Texas making a return to Springfield for the first time since a New Years Eve House Show in the year… 2014/2015 or something. Stream their music on the player below to hear how much they’ve grown. Also on this show is that new heavy surf band “Snuff Rider” that will be playing their first show here on the 22nd of this month. Opening things up is a special patriotic fourth of July performance from the band Uncle Sam’s Mutagenic Children.

All of that starts later… we are saying after the fireworks, which we think are at 9:00 pm. Everyone’s going to be downton as it is, right? Admission is $5 for the touring act. Find a facebook event for this one soon. Check out our Bread Sheep upcoming shows page for a look at what else is coming up soon.